Brilliant field announced for Gosford
December 02, 2014

Full Throttle Promotions, organiser of the prestigious Sidecar Grand Slam Series, has announced what is quite possibly the best field ever assembled in NSW to contest the opening round of the championship, to be staged at Gosford Showground, on the NSW Central Coast, on Sunday night, December 28.

The event, presented by Pit Lane Karting Raceway at West Gosford, will feature a truly international field of speedway bike super stars; with representatives from England, New Zealand, Queensland, Tasmania, New South Wales, Victoria and South Australia taking part.

The elite 16 team field is spearheaded by current Australian Champion and defending Grand Slam Series Champions Darrin Treloar and Blake Cox.

The NSW duo will be joined by former SGS and Oceania Champion Mark Plaisted and his passenger Brian Anthony (South Australia), former two times World Champion Mick Headland and Jesse Headland (South Australia) and former national long track and Australian Pairs champions Grant Bond and Glenn Cox (NSW).

In addition, the field features newly crowned Australian Long Track Champions, Brisbane’s Stuart Firth and Yolanda Wilken, as well as the current Queensland number two combination of David Hagel and Ben Cooper and former Queensland Champion, Brodie Cohen and Hagan Campbell.

New Zealand’s Andrew Buchanan, from Palmerston North, will contest the meeting with his new passenger Denny Cox (NSW) and the pair is certainly amongst the pre meeting favourites given the rich vein of form they have enjoyed during the early stages of this season. The duo finished runner-up in the Spring Nationals at Gosford in October and followed up by winning the Gary Moon Tribute Classic in North Queensland the following week.

Mick Headland and Jesse Headland will enter the opening round of the Sidecar Grand Slam as one of the teams to beat, having been in great form; taking out the Spring Nationals at Gosford in October in sensational fashion.

Another combination ready to rock Gosford is Roxby Downs’ resident Trent Headland and his English passenger Daryl Whetstone, who have also enjoyed as staller start to the new season.

The always consistent, multiple Victorian Champions, Warren Monson and Matt Morgan, have been selected to take part in the December 28 fixture as has strong NSW based teams such as Paul Hemsworth and Rodney Russell, who were brilliant at the recent Spring Nationals, Stephen Saunders and Clarissa Mitchell and Hayden Bond and Brady Cox.

Tasmania’s Reg Waters will make the long trek north to compete along with passenger, veteran Don Morris (NSW).

Meanwhile multiple Australian Champion (as a passenger) Justin Plaisted will appear at the event with passenger Simon Cohrs, also a former Australian Champion. 

Also making their Gosford debut are the South Australian duo of Daniel and Luke Puddy, one of the nation’s most improved teams, who demonstrated that they can match it with the best riders in the world when they qualified for the A Final of the Sidecar Grand Slam finale last season in Adelaide.

The opening round of the Sidecar Grand Slam Series, presented by Pit Lane Karting Raceway, at Gosford Showground on December 28, will be supported by the Christmas Cup for solos as well as a massive fireworks display.

The solo ranks, contesting the Christmas Cup, are very strong with many of the nation’s top young stars taking part. The early entries are headed up by the likes of Sam Masters, who enjoyed a stellar season in England, Alex Davies, Allan McDonald, Josh McDonald, Jye Etheridge and Josh Pickering. The final solo field will be announced in coming days.

Racing will commence at 6pm sharp and conclude by no later than 10pm.

The event will be screened on Fox Sports on the popular Chequered Flag program.

There will also be preliminary racing staged between 1pm and 4pm for Quarter Midgets and Speedway Karts. Pit gates open at 11am whilst spectator gates will open at 1pm.

Gosford Showground is located just one hour north of Sydney and is only a 100 metre walk from Gosford Railway station. Full bar and food facilities available with ample parking. 

Adult admission is just $25 and a family pass is great value for money at just $50 for two adults and two children aged between 6 and 15. Kids under 5 are free!

For further information visit  


1.     Darrin Treloar/Blake Cox – NSW
2.     Trent Headland/Daryl Whetstone – SA/ENG
3.     Stephen Saunders/Clarissa Mitchell – NSW
4.     David Hagel/Ben Cooper – QLD
5.     Justin Plaisted/Simon Cohrs – SA/VIC
6.     Paul Hemsworth/Rodney Russell – NSW
7.     Brodie Cohen/Hagan Campbell – QLD
8.     Mick Headland/Jesse Headland – SA
9.     Grant Bond/Glenn Cox – NSW
10.    Warren Monson/Matt Morgan – VIC
11.    Mark Plaisted/Brian Anthony – SA
12.    Andrew Buchanan/Denny Cox – NZ/NSW
13.    Daniel Puddy/Luke Puddy – SA
14.    Reg Waters/Don Morris – TAS/NSW
15.    Stuart Firth/Yolanda Wilken – QLD
16.    Hayden Bond/Brady Cox - NSW


17.    Tim Lawrence/Chris Johnstone – NSW
18.    Adam Thompson/TBA - ACT

Motorcycling Australia TV