Australia Ready and Waiting for the 2017 Motocross of Nations
September 28, 2017

The ‘Olympic Games of Motocross’ the FIM Motocross of Nations (MXoN) is fast approaching, taking place from September 30 to October 1, in Great Britain. It’s one of the largest and most anticipated bike showdowns on the globe. Team Australia will send a three-man team, to compete against the best motocross riders, and will be determined to achieve success at the event.

The 2017 MXoN taking place at Matterley Basin, is the biggest Motocross event in the world. This is the 71st running of the event and will bring up to 39 nations together. The venue is world class with its grassy hills and natural terrain. The track this year has been updated with new additions and a longer track length, which is sure to give the tens of thousands of fans an epic viewing experience. Last time the circuit hosted the MXoN was in 2006 and it provided not only great racing, but amazing atmosphere.

The MXoN has be traced back to 1947 and the event has always carried cultural significance. Historically, Great Britain dominated the early years, before the competition became fiercer. With the rise of motocross in North America from the 1970s, the USA embarked on a famous winning streak, lasting 13 years from 1981 to 1993. France have dominated the previous three MXoN’s.

Yamaha’s Dean Ferris leads Team Australia and pairs up with KTM Motocross Racing Team’s Kirk Gibbs and Team Suzuki World MX2’s Hunter Lawrence. Lawrence comes off his career first race win and pole position at the MXGP of Pays de Montbéliard only a couple of weeks ago. Gary Benn remains as Team Manager of the Australian Team for the 2017 MXoN.

In an exciting development, RACESAFE’s Jon Park will support the Australian Team. Park is the Chief Sports Physiotherapist for RACESAFE. This will be the first time there has been medical support for the Australian team at MXoN and Park is proud to have helped pave the way for the progression of the sport regarding sports medicine and in particular physiotherapy.
Multi-time and defending champions, Team France again possess a strong team led by Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Gautier Paulin. The experienced French rider comes off a strong season in the MXGP World Championship, where he won the MXGP of Europe in Valkenswaard and took third overall in the championship standings.
The home country, Team Great Britain will indeed have the crowd behind them. The team is made up by Monster Energy DRT Kawasaki’s, Tommy Searle plus Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Max Anstie and Dean Wilson. Anstie has momentum on his side as he was on the podium three times in his 2017 rookie MXGP campaign and two of them came at the last two rounds.
Team Belgium is another podium contender with top riders such as Team Suzuki World MXGP’s Kevin Strijbos, Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MXGP’s Jeremy Van Horebeek and Kemea Yamaha Official MX Team’s Brent Van doninck.
Team Switzerland will be a force to reckoned with as well, with Wilvo Yamaha MXGP’s Arnaud Tonus, Team Suzuki World MXGP’s Jeremy Seewer, and Honda Redmoto Assomotor’s Valentin Guillod. Tonus while returning from injury has an MXGP race win to his name in 2017 and Seewer steps up to the 450cc after finishing second in the 2017 MX2 World Championship.

Timetable All Local Times
Friday: MXGP Awards 14:00; MXoN Teams Presentation 18:00
Saturday: Free Practice YZ125 bLU cRU 08:30; Free Practice MXGP 10:00; Free practice MX2 11:00; Free Practice Open 12:00; Time Practice YZ125 bLU cRU 12:50; Qualifying Heat MXGP 13:30; Qualifying Heat MX2 14:30; Qualifying Heat Open 15:30; Race 1 YZ125 bLU cRU 16:00; C-Final 17:00.
Sunday: Warm-up B-Final 8:30; Race 2 YZ125 bLU cRU 09:20; Warm-up MXoN Group 1 9:50; Warm-up MXoN Group 2 10:20; B-Final 11:00; MXoN Race 1 (MXGP+MX2) 13:10; MXoN Race 2 (MX2+Open) 14:40; MXoN Race 3 (Open+MXGP) 16:08.
Words and Photo Provided by Media Youthstream
To keep up-to-date with all the news from the 2017 Motocross of Nations, stay tuned to the Motorcycling Australia website.
Photos Courtesy of MX Nationals (Ferris and Gibbs) and Suzuki World Racing (Lawrence).

Motorcycling Australia TV