Croker Converts Pole Position to Win for Australian Supersport 300
October 21, 2017

Australia's Supersport 300 competitors entertained spectators today with Max Croker (KTM Australia, RC 390) on pole position, battling his way to eventually claim victory in Race Two at the 2017 Australian Motorcycle Grand Prix.

After Hunter Fordís (Ford Brothers Racing, YZF-R3) impressive victory yesterday, his fellow competitors were eager to turn the tables and secure a win for themselves in front of thousands of racing fans, in an eight-lap race.  
Taking the lead into Doohan Corner was Croker, closely followed by Oli Bayliss (Cube Racing, Kawasaki Ninja 300), Seth Crump (Jason Crump, KTM RC 390), Jack Mahaffy (JDS Moto, Yamaha YZF-R3) and Tom Bramich (Ron Angel Classic, Yamaha YZF-R3).
After the first lap, Croker, Bayliss, and Mahaffy were beginning to bridge a gap to Bramich in fourth, who was now 1.4 seconds off the leaders. The trio were exchanging overtakes on a frequent basis and the win was up for grabs between all three competitors.  
Another group of riders that was generating plenty of battles was between Bramich, Ford, Broc Pearson (YRD, Yamaha YZF-R3), Crump, Locky Taylor (Fitness2Podium, Yamaha YZF-R3) and Brandon Demmery (Deborah Motorsports, Yamaha YZF-R3).
By the mid-stages of the race Mahaffy had taken the lead, with Croker and Bayliss only separated by .224s. The battle of the front was exactly what has been a common feature of Supersport 300 racing this year.
On the last lap, Croker would lead from Mahaffy and Bayliss. Bayliss appeared to be losing ground on the final lap, with Croker and Mahaffy in close succession. The three went down Gardner Straight and it would be Croker to emerge victorious on his KTM RC 390. Croker performed well thought out defensive manoeuvres to break the slip stream of Mahaffy and Bayliss who finished second and third. Only .102s separated the podium placers as they crossed the finish line.
Ford would secure fourth in a photo finish between himself, Crump, Levy, Bramich, Pearson, Taylor and Scott Nicholson (NextGen Motorsports, Kawasaki EX 300), who would complete the top ten positions. Amazingly only 0.36s would separate fourth to ninth.
Stay tuned tomorrow morning for the final support races for the Australian Motorcycle Grand Prix. The Australian Supersport 300 Race Three takes place at 9:00 AM and the Phillip Island Superbike Championship Race Four takes place at 9:35 AM.  
Australian Supersport 300 Race Two Provisional Results
1 Max CROKER (KTM Australia, RC 390)
2 Jack MAHAFFY (JDS Moto, Yamaha YZF-R3)
3 Oliver BAYLISS (Cube Racing, Kawasaki Ninja 300)
4 Hunter FORD (Ford Brothers Racing, YZF-R3)
5 Seth CRUMP (Jason Crump, KTM RC 390)
6 Zac LEVY (Puma RVís, Yamaha YZF-R3),
7 Tom BRAMICH (Ron Angel Classic, Yamaha YZF-R3)
8 Broc PEARSON (YRD, Yamaha YZF-R3)
9 Locky TAYLOR (Fitness2Podium, Yamaha YZF-R3)
10 Scott NICOLSON (NextGen Motorsports, Kawasaki EX 300)

To stay up to date with the latest news from this weekendís Australian Motorcycle Grand Prix event, head to and follow on Facebook and Instagram.
Images courtesy of Andrew Gosling/tbgsport - Max Croker and the Australian Supersport 300 Class.

Motorcycling Australia TV